E.A. Sports Today

Cherokee County Hall names class

Seven former athletes representing 5 of the county’s high schools and five sports will be enshrined June 11

CENTRE — Seven former athletes representing five of the county’s high schools and five sports will be inducted into this year’s class of the Cherokee County Sports Hall of Fame.

The Hall’s Class of 2016 includes Paige Anderson McDonald (Spring Garden), Taylor Burt (Sand Rock), Jamie Hampton (Cedar Bluff), Lucas McMichen (Sand Rock), Josh Moten (Cedar Bluff), Bobby Sanders (Hatcher) and Charley Whorton (Cherokee County). It is the 11th group of athletes to be inducted into the Hall will bring its roster of inductees to 51.

They will be enshrined during ceremonies June 11 at the Gadsden State-Cherokee Arena in Centre.

The class includes two multi-sport athletes, three recognized for their play on the football field, one in basketball and one in baseball.

The former Paige Anderson was part of four state championship teams while at Spring Garden. She helped the Panthers basketball team to three Class 1A state basketball titles in 2004, 2005 and 2008 as well as gathering state MVP honors on the 2007 volleyball championship squad. Anderson was a Class 1A Player of the Year finalist four consecutive years while claiming the honor in 2006 and 2008. Anderson took her spirited play to Samford University where the Lady Bulldogs would gain berths in the NIT and NCAA basketball tournaments.

The intensely competitive Burt was voted first team all-state in volleyball, basketball and softball during her senior season. She then played volleyball and softball at Gadsden State before taking her talents to Auburn-Montgomery. Burt is now the head softball coach at North Jackson High School. She came to the Chiefs after leading Ft. Payne to three regional softball appearances.

Hampton, a 2007 Cedar Bluff graduate, was an all-state quarterback throwing for nearly 5,000 yards and 65 touchdowns in his high school career. An ASWA Class 1A first team selection at quarterback, Hampton guided the Tigers to a Class 1A runner-up finish in 2006. He also was a starter at Troy University.

McMichen collected the Class 2A Back of the Year honor in 1999 while guiding Sand Rock to a state runner-up finish in football. After throwing for more than 6,000 yards in his high school career, McMichen would add over 4,000 more as a starter at West Georgia University.

Moten was the Class 1A Back of the Year in 2002. At the conclusion of his high school career he held the Alabama state high school record for career receiving yardage. He went on to play at Jacksonville State where he was part of its 2003 and 2004 Ohio Valley Conference championship teams.

Sanders graduated from Hatcher High School in Centre in 1956. His legendary slugging prowess was first displayed in Centre where large crowds would gather to see him play on the baseball field at Hatcher. He received a baseball scholarship to Florida A&M and then joined the Birmingham Black Barons and then the Phillies’ minor league organization where his hitting exploits continued. After retiring from baseball he would gain acclaim as a five-time national racquetball champion and gain induction into the Ohio Racquetball Hall of Fame in 1990. Sanders passed away last year.

Whorton was one of the most prolific scorers in Cherokee County High School basketball history. Whorton set a school single season points record of 513 while averaging 28.5 points per game in 1955-56. Whorton also knocked down 42 points against Gaston to set a Warriors single game record.

Hall of Fame president Mike Welsh also announced there will be a golf tournament on Saturday morning at the Cherokee County Country Club. Details on the tournament and ticket prices for the induction ceremony will be announced later and available on the Hall’s web site at www.cherokeecountyalabamasportshof.com

You must be logged in to post a comment Login