E.A. Sports Today

Tigers win state

Cleburne County rallies from early deficit to win Class 1A-4A Duals state title, Champion’s pin at 120 clinches it

First-year Cleburne County head coach Jake Mayfield rejoins his team after accepting the Class 1A-4A Wrestling Duals state championship plaque.

AHSAA Duals Championships
Championship Match
Cleburne County 43, Ashville 34
Championship Match
Gardendale 38, Wetumpka 19
Championship Match
Thompson 33, Vestavia Hills 25

From staff reports

Cleburne County won the last six weight classes of the match to rally from a 34-12 deficit to beat Ashville 43-34 and take the Class 1A-4A championship in the State Wrestling Duals Tournament Friday.

It took a Champion to make the Tigers (24-4) a champion and it all went down to the final minute.

Anthony Champion pinned Ashville’s Nick Williamson in 5:36 at 120 to clinch the crown.

Zach Salter getting the rally started with a major decision over Trenton Martin at 197. They won the last three matches – Austin Mayfield, Shamar Heard and Champion – all by pins. Mayfield and Heard won in the first period.

Ashville (24-2) came into the final riding a 24-match winning streak since opening the season with its only previous loss – to Class 7A Hewitt-Trussville. The Bulldogs were in control thanks five straight pins.

The traditional state wrestling championship will be conducted over two weekends this season with Class 1A-4A at Montgomery’s Garrett Coliseum and Class 7A at the Bill Harris Arena in Birmingham Feb. 12-13. Class 5A-6A will compete at Von Braun Center in Huntsville Feb. 18-20.

Cleburne County (24-4) 43, Ashville (24-2) 34

106:  Austin Mayfield (CC) pinned Owen Meads, 0:20.
113: Shamar Heard (CC) pinned Jaden Harris, 1:07.
120: Anthony Champion (CC) pinned Nick Williamson, 5:36.
126: Ian McGowan (CC pinned Tyler Edber, 1:35.
132: Nick Spears (A) pinned Ronin Brower, 2:27. 
138: Brennen Butler (CC) pinned William Simpson, 2:58.
145: Austin Hale (A) pinned Zachary Scott, 2:20.
152: Justin Autry (A) pinned Samuel Adams, 5:50.
160: Jabe Burgess (A) pinned Jimmy O’Kelley, 2:30.
170: Dylan Harris (A) pinned Justin Pate, 1:20.
182: Luke Harris (A) dec. Gavin Wright, major dec. 17-5.
195:  Zachary Salter (CC) dec. Trenton Martin, major dec. 14-4.
220: Russell Clanton (CC) pinned Jacob Ebner, 1:52.
285: Eli Brown (CC) dec. Morson Wilson, 3-2.

Cleburne County’s Anthony Champion moves in to pin Nick Williamson to clinch the 1A-4A Duals state championship for the Tigers.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login