E.A. Sports Today

Bulldogs, Tigers top honors

Class 3A semifinalists Piedmont, Randolph County dominate all-region team, place 28 players, split major awards

By East Alabama Sports Today

Piedmont and Randolph County played two great games this season, including a classic in the Class 3A state semifinals, so it stands to reason they would dominate the Class 3A Region 5 all-region team as selected by the coaches.

The teams placed a combined 28 players on the team and split the four major awards.

Piedmont quarterback Cardavion Myers is region Player of the Year and lineman Logan Beadles is the Defensive Player of the Year. Randolph County running back Aaron Knight is the Offensive Player of the Year and Pat Prestridge is the Coach of the Year.

Myers, expected to sign with Western Kentucky during the early period, is in Hattiesburg this week for Saturday’s Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Game. In his first year as the Bulldogs’ starting quarterback, Myers rushed for 1,973 yards and 27 touchdowns and completed 58 percent of his passes for 1,148 yards and 17 touchdowns. Beadles had 97 tackles, 16 for loss and 11 sacks.

The Bulldogs placed 15 players on the all-region list, 10 on the first team. The Tigers placed 13 players on the list, eight on the first team. The number of players per team is based on a team’s finish in the standings.


PIEDMONT – DL Logan Beadles, WR Darien Bossie, C Cole Chasteen, DB Kaedon Jenkins, LB Gavin Kircus, QB Cardavion Myers, LB Logan Smith, DE Sean Smith, RB Lee Stanley, LB Matthew Thornton. Honorable mention: WR T.J. Fairs, OL Blake Headrick, LB Taylor Morrow, OL Davis Young.

OHATCHEE – QB Grayson Alward, LB Austin Duncan, OL Jarrett Ford, DL Jordan Lowe, LB Cam McCombs, RB Domonique Thomas. Honorable mention: OL Aaric Goode, DB Baylee Graham, TE Larry Noah, OL Josh Poole, DB Kevin Williamson.

WELLBORN – DL JaMyron Curry, RB Kedrick Harris, DB Walker Hayes, LB Jeff Smith. Honorable mention: Dylan Gilbert, Kentrez Hunt, Javion Thomas, Mason Yates.

GLENCOE – LB Noah Huff, LB Bradley Scott. Honorable mention: Cade Alred, Dawson Bass, Madrew Massaro, Jake Trimm.

RANDOLPH COUNTY – OL-DL Richard Bledsoe, TE-DE E.J. Clark, RB-DB Donte Davenport, RB Aaron Knight, RB-DE Trent Lane, WR-DB Andrew Prestridge, WR-DB Tre Terrell, QB Brody Wortham. Honorable mention: Seth Goodson, Atario Hester, C.J. Pinkard, T.J. Sims, Nick Sims.

WEAVER – FB-LB Caleb Allison, OL Riley Benavides, QB-DB Dalton Hamby, TB-WR London Knight, RB Shamar Spinks. Honorable mention: OL-DL Jasper Dukes, LB Robert Gaines, OL Tyler Perez, DE Isaiah Woods, DB Jondarious Young-Hampton.

PLEASANT VALLEY – RB Ethan Borders, LB Alex Parris, WR-DB Caden Turner. Honorable mention: OL Carson Brazier, RB Colton East, LB Ashton King, OL Triston Salster, DB Nic Smith.

Coach of the Year – Pat Prestridge, Randolph County
Player of the Year – Cardavion Myers, Piedmont
Offensive Player of the Year – Aaron Knight, Randolph County
Defensive Player of the Year – Logan Beadles, Piedmont

You must be logged in to post a comment Login