E.A. Sports Today

Weekend golf

Rogers wins Drive, Putt & Chip qualifier, Okins advances; Geeting scores another win in playoff

Adrian Geeting (L) has won tournaments each of the last two weekends in playoffs. See more below. (Photo by B.J. Franklin/GungHo Photos)

By Al Muskewitz
East Alabama Sports Today

SILVER LAKES – Isabel Rogers has advanced through local qualifying each of the previous three years she has competed in Drive, Chip & Putt Championship at Silver Lakes. On Saturday, playing in the girls 10-11 division for the first time, she won.

The 10-year-old rising White Plains Middle School sixth-grader scored big points in all three disciplines. Two of her putts found the 20-point ring and all three of her drives found the scoring grid.

“I’ve been working on that a good bit,” she said of her consistency across the board.

She advances to the second stage at RTJ-Capitol Hill in Prattville the weekend of the Calhoun County Championship.

Pine Hill’s Kenneth Okins advanced by finishing third in the boys 14-15 division. Gage Miller won the division’s chipping prize, but didn’t score enough overall points to advance.

The complete list of qualifiers is listed below.

PAR-3 PLAYOFF: Adrian Geeting scored his second playoff victory in as many weeks Saturday when he birdied the third hole of sudden death to win the Par-3 Contest at Anniston Municipal Golf Course.

Geeting, Ted Heim, Tony Strickland and Danny Whittaker all tied at 1-over-par 82. They played No. 9 at about 110 yards until somebody won.

Heim bogeyed the second time through to fall out of the race. On the third go-round, Whittaker parred, Strickland bogeyed and Geeting made a four-foot birdie putt.

Last weekend Geeting birdied 18 on Sunday to give him and partner Caleb Bowen a scorecard playoff win over Jeremy McGatha and Brennan Clay in the Slaughterhouse Tournament at Alpine Bay.

“I feel good with how I’m hitting it right now and I’ve been fortunate to make some putts at the right time,” Geeting said.

Silver Lakes Qualifier

7-9 Division

Qualifiers: 1. Kaytlin Lovett 40, 2. Aubrey Squires 25/
Drive: Kaytlin Lovett, Aubrey Squires. Chip: (tie) Kaytlin Lovett, Aubrey Squires. Putt: Kaytlin Lovett, Aubrey Squires.

10-11 Division
Qualifiers: 1. Isabel Rogers 90, 2. Polly Kate McCrackin 76, 3. Lyndi Parker Jones 65.
Drive: Polly Kate McCrackin, Milla Friday, Isabel Rogers. Chip: Isabel Rogers, Kylee Lynn, Betsy Howard. Putt: Lyndi Parker Jones, Isabel Rogers, Betsy Howard.

12-13 Division
Qualifiers: 1. Virginia Anne Holmes 81, 2. Makayla Sato 71, 3. Kate Bowman 57.
Drive: Makayla Sato, Kate Bowman, Virginia Anne Holmes. Chip: Virginia Anne Holmes, Makayla Sato, (tie) Kate Bowman, Mary Charles Davis. Putt: Mary Charles Davis, Kate Bowman, Virginia Anne Holmes.

14-15 Division
Qualifiers: 1. Chaya Schart 104, 2. Christian Williams 94, 3. Annamarie Thompson 93.
Drive: Anna Bebawy, Chaya Scharf, Annamarie Thompson. Chip: Christian Williams, Shelby Hughes, Annamarie Thompson. Putt: (tie) Rayab Lee, Elle Squires, Ella Howard.

7-9 Division

Qualifiers: 1. Griffin Barnett 120, 2. Lincoln Kilpatrick 117, 3. Hale Hamilton 76.
Drive: Eli Scharf, Lincoln Kilpatrick, Griffin Barnett. Chip: Griffin Barnett, Lincoln Kilpatrick, Kason Fant. Putt: Griffin Barnett, Lincoln Kilpatrick, Hale Hamilton.

10-11 Division
Qualifiers: 1. Andrew Turner 119, 2. Justin Lovoy 102, 3. Cove McHugh 89.
Drive: Andrew Turner, Cove McHugh, Justin Lovoy. Chip: Justin Lovoy, Andrew Turner, Connor Lacy. Putt: Jackson Skinner, Jacob Lovett, Andrew Turner.

12-13 Division
Qualifiers: 1. Tejas Reddy 147, 2. Vinay Yerramsetti 138, 3. Mason Crowder 135.
Drive: Vinay Yerramsetti, Mason Crowder, Chase Kyes. Chip: Andrew Szymela, Jackson Hope, Tejas Reddy. Putt: Eli Edge, Tejas Reddy, Caden Strandburg.

14-15 Division
Qualifiers: 1. Wesley Jenkins 145, 2. Jackson Bowman 137, 3. Kenneth Okins 132.
Drive: Jackson Bowman, Wesley Jenkins, Harrison Turner. Chip: Gage Miller, Wesley Jenkins, Ryan Harris. Putt: Brady Wood, Wesley Jenkins, Ryan Harris.

On the cover: The qualifiers from the girls 10-11 division (from left) — Polly Kate McCrackin, Lyndi Parker Jones and Isabel Rogers — show off their ribbons.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login