E.A. Sports Today

Hometown team wins Jackson Memorial

Stanley, Tanner birdie five straight holes on the back nine to pull away from McGatha and Rogers

By East Alabama Sports Today

LAFAYETTE, Ga. — John Stanley and grandson Cory Tanner birdied five straight holes on the back nine of their home course Sunday to pull away from Jeremy McGatha and Matt Rogers and win the James E. Jackson Memorial Tournament.

The winners, first-time partners from Trion, Ga., shot a final-round 58 at LaFayette Golf Course for a two-day total 114, two ahead of McGatha and Rogers.

“This is first time we played in it together,” said Tanner, a 27-year-old insurance agent who played a little college golf at Atlanta Christian. “We’re trying to get back into playing in these two-man tournaments together. This was the first time opportunity to get paired up together.”

McGatha and Rogers entered the day one shot off the lead and had caught the leaders at the turn. But Stanley and Tanner pulled away with birdies on holes 11 through 15 — three from inside two feet – and carried a two-shot lead into the final hole.

“It was a good run,” Tanner said. “We had a lot of good wedges on the back, that’s what made that break. Once we took the tee back we kind of held on through the last few holes.

“They (McGatha and Rogers) played good; it was a really good challenge. They lit it up on the front. We just had to stick with it.”

MATCH PLAY: One half of the title match for the Cherokee County CC club championship is set after defending champion Jake Minnix defeated Brian Johnson 5&3.

The match swung back and forth on the front nine and was all square through eight before Minnix won six of the next seven holes. He will play either David Garrett or Lee Morgan in the finals.

In the Senior Club Championship (50-64), Kurt Duryea parred the 18th hole to defeat Stan McCarley 1 up to reach the semifinals.

Duryea enjoyed a stretch on the back nine in which he won three of four holes, capped by an eagle on 14, to go 3 up, but McCarley won the next three holes to to go into 18 all square.

Duryea awaits the
Final results

At LaFayette (Ga.) Golf Course

Championship flight
Cory Tanner-John Stanley 56-58—114
Jeremy McGatha-Matt Rogers 57-59—116
Wayne Garrett-Dawson Garrett 59-60—119
Bo Abney-Pat Abney 59-60—119
Allen Keen-Stephen Keen 62-61—123
Dawson Day-Ben Huggins 62-62—124
Shawn Weldon-Gray Weldon 61-63—124
Billy Mack-Caden Garrett 61-67—128

First flight
Ernie Brabner-Levi Nix 63-60—123
Josh Jackson-PJ Shields 64-59—123
Kenny Fulmer-Jeff Noah 63-64—127
Johnny Bentley-Tim Gamble 64-65—129
Scott Hays-Jake Minnix 64-65—129
Scotty Grimes-Tj McGatha 64-65—129
Daryl Wise-Kenrick King 64-65—129
Justin Austin-Keith Harmon 64-65—129
Keith Atkinson-Tim Trammell 64-66—130
Sid Garrett-Terry Tallent 64-70—134

Second flight
Tyler Jackson-Chris Jackson 70-66—136
Rodney Van Pelt-Jeff Woodall 68-69—137
Steve Baker-Phillip Hicks 73-68—141
Scott Farrar-Tommy Collins 69-73—142
Kevin Bedwell-Will Bedwell 69-74—143
Scotty McFry-Jeremy Braizer 73-73—146

You must be logged in to post a comment Login