E.A. Sports Today


Oxford Smash It Sports Vipers standouts Smith, Brookshire make all-league team. Smoke’s Jefferson player of year, Pease pitcher of year.

By East Alabama Sports Today

Smash It Sports Vipers third baseman/catcher Makena Smith and utility player Suzy Brookshire were at-large selections on the All-Womens Professional Fastpitch team, announced Tuesday night at the league’s banquet at Talladega Superspeedway.

Texas Smoke’s Janae Jefferson is player of the year, and teammate Autumn Pease is pitcher of the year. Other top award winners included the following: offensive player of the year Morgan Howe (Texas Smoke); defensive player of the year Sydney Sherrill (Oklahoma City Spark); rookie of the year and most stolen bases, Kayla Kowalick (USSSA Pride); and coaching staff of the year (Texas Smoke).

Smith ranks eighth in the WPF with a .378 on-base percentage, eighth with six doubles and fifth with two triples. Brookshire is fourth with seven doubles and fourth with 17 walks.

The WPF playoffs start tonight at Choccolocco Park. The schedule can be found on this link.

Here is the 2023 All-WPF list:

Fa Leilua (OKC Spark)
Janae Jefferson (Texas Smoke)
Ali Aguilar (USSSA Pride)
Charla Echols (Texas Smoke)
Sydney Sherrill (OKC Spark)
Michelle Moultrie (OKC Spark)
Morgan Howe (Texas Smoke)
Kayla Kowalik (USSSA Pride)
Sam Show (Texas Smoke)
Autumn Pease (Texas Smoke
Ally Carda (USSSA Pride)
Hope Trautwein (USSSA Pride)
Baylee Klingler (Texas Smoke)
Jocelyn Alo (OKC Spark)
Makena Smith (SIS Vipers)
SilentRain Espinoza (USSSA Pride)
Suzy Brookshire (SIS Vipers)
Donnie Gobourne (OKC Spark)
Haley Lee (OKC Spark)

You must be logged in to post a comment Login