E.A. Sports Today

Almost home

LeCroy takes 2-shot lead into Championship Sunday at Anniston Country Club

Clay Guerin (L) looks back to see tournament leader Jacob LeCroy tap in a par putt on 18 after nearly chipping in from off the green.

By Al Muskewitz
East Alabama Sports Today

The final three holes at Anniston Country Club have always had the potential to produce some dramatic turnarounds and it did in the second round of the Wilfred Galbraith ACC Invitational.

Jacob LeCroy, the 2018 champion, trailed 2018 Alabama Player of the Year Clay Guerin by a shot stepping on the 16th tee Saturday. When the players walked off the 18th green, LeCroy was holding a two-shot lead and Guerin was chewing on a bogey-bogey-bogey finish.

LeCroy shot 68 for the second day in a row and stood at 4-under 136 for the championship. Guerin posted an even-par 70 for 138.Another shot back and expected to complete Sunday’s final group are Ty Cole and Dalton Chandler.

LeCroy said he gave no thought to the margin when he went to the 16th tee. He was just “playing the game.”

“I was not worried about what he did; I wasn’t even thinking about it,” he said. “I thought I’ve played plenty good enough today to do whatever. He’s made more putts than I have and if I walk out of here down one or two, OK, we’ll get after it tomorrow. That was the only thought going through my head.

“I was going to play my best on 16, 17 and 18, knowing I wasn’t going to hit anything crazy … I’m happy I did (get the lead), but he kind of gave it to me. I didn’t do anything out of the ordinary.”

The final three holes at ACC give a player all kinds of ways to score – an iconic par-3, a scoreable par-5 and a classic par-4 finishing hole into an amphitheater setting. LeCroy parred all three both days.

LeCroy, Guerin and Gary Wigington, the defending champion, went into the round tied for the lead, setting the stage for some fireworks from the first group of the day.

LeCroy and Guerin separated themselves from the pack by the turn. Guerin took the lead at 5-under with an eagle on 11 to LeCroy’s birdie and it stayed that way until they came to 16.

Guerin, who’d never seen the ACC property until Friday’s opening round, was in the back fringe left of the hole on 16 and took three putts to get home. He was in the right treeline with his first two shots on 17, punched into the fairway with his third, spun back into the bunker on his fourth and got up and down for 6. And then he three-putted 18.

He blamed his finish on “pace issues” and fatigue.

“I ran out of gas; I’m flat tired,” the Hoover Country Club player said. “We played an almost five-hour round on a 6,300-yard golf course in the heat; I mean, it’s stupid. We had pace issues and that’s frustrating and I ran out of patience and I got tired. I made shots that I don’t ever make because I ran out of patience and I was tired.”

Wigington held the outright lead through six holes but then got sideways and made three straight bogeys that became 6-over-par in a seven-hole stretch. He did rebound with birdies at 16 and 17 and will play in the next-to-last group Sunday, but is five shots off the lead.

NOTES: LeCroy and Neill Hatcher of Birmingham (Pine Tree CC) had the day’s only under-par rounds in the championship flight. Hatcher shot 69; he birdied 11 and 12 to get to even-par and birdied 16 to get into red numbers … Landon Straub also scored an eagle in the championship flight (No. 7) … The only holes that didn’t yield a birdie to the championship flight were 6 and 9 … When LeCroy won at Silver Lakes earlier this season, he was locked in a three-way tie for the opening-round lead (68) and led by two after the second (and final) round.

Wilfred Galbraith ACC Invitational

Jacob LeCroy6868136
Clay Guerin6870138
Ty Cole6970139
Dalton Chandler6970139
Neill Hatcher7169140
Gary Wigington6873141
Scott Martin7072142
Brennan Clay7072142
Ross Napier7171142
Jeremy McGatha7271143
Lance Evans7272144
Jonathan Pate7470144
Freeman Fite7471145
Jackson King7570145
Landon Straub7374147
Andrew Brooks7573148
Harrison Hughston7376149
Adam Sanders7475149
Andrew Gladden6981150
Josh Poole7377150
Jack Svensen7476150
Will Reaves7476150
Chip Howell7773150
Morton Holcomb7180151
Tanner Wells7675151
Randy Lipscomb7873151
Ryan Segrest7972151
Daniel Black7776153
Jeff Bain7480154
Ryan Howard7678154
Morgan Cunningham7777154
Greg Shultz7481155
Kyle Daugherty7679155
Clay Calkins7877155
Rob Svensen7979158
Tyler Huckaby7784161
Ott Chandler7982161
Andrew Morris7889167
Hunter Carr7992171
Will Broome72
Maverick Smith73
Ross Svensen75
Chase Thomas77
Ed Johnson77
Casey Harmon77
Danny Whittaker78
Ryan Limbaugh78
Matt Rogers78
Kenneth Patterson78
Jeremy Willis79
Jason Britton79
Luke Armstrong80
Chad Key81
Matt Hunter81
Cal Lambert81
James Lett81
Chris Messer82
Ted Heim82
Mark Guyther82
Caleb Morrow82
Taylor Morrow82
JB Barnes82
Cameron McCareeth83
Craig Kiker84
Lamar Carter84
Tyler Romine84
Daniel Smith85
Bubba Willingham86
Taylor Jones86
Zach Mangum86
Henry Pritchett87
Houston Black87
Mark Gaines87
Will Brown88
Graham Morrow89
Trey Stone89
Braylin Hathorn89
Grant Greenwood90
Adam Benefiel92
Randy Watson92
Dillard Talley93
Greg Rainey93
Heath Waldrop94
Kelly Rogers95
Ben Phillips95
Kolby Slick97
Eric Stringer98
Amado Ortiz102
Sean Kline102
David Sanders74
Don Springer76
David Broach81
Jerry Ordis86
Mike Lett86
Don Whitlow100

Sunday pairings

7:45 a.m.: Jerry Ordis, Mike Lett, Don Whitlow
7:55: David Sanders, Don Springer, David Broach
8:05: Kolby Slick, Eric Stringer, Amado Ortiz, Sean Kline
8:15: Greg Rainey, Heath Waldrop, Kelly Rogers, Ben Phillips
8:25: Grant Greenwood, Adam Benefiel, Randy Watson, Dillard
8:40: Graham Morrow, Trey Stone, Braylin Hathorn
8:50: Houston Black, Marrk Gaines, Will Brown
9:00: Bubba Willingham, Taylorr Jones, Zach Mangum, Henry Pritchett
9:10: Craig Kiker, Lamar Carter, Tyler Romine, Daniel Smith
9:20: Caleb Morrow, Taylor Morros, J.B. Barnes, Cameron McCareeth
9:30: James Lett, Chris Messer, Ted Heim, Mark Guyther
9:40: Luke Armstrong, Cal Lambert, Matt Hunter, Chad Key
9:50: Matt Rogers, Kenneth Patterson, Jeremy Willis, Jason Britton
10:00: Ed Johnson, Casey Harmon, Danny Whittaker, Ryan Limbaugh
10:10: Will Broome, Maverick Smith, Ross Svensen, Chase Thomas
Noon: Tyler Huckaby, Andrew Morris, Hunter Carr
12:10 p.m.: Ott Chandler, Kyle Daugherty, Clay Calkins, Rob Svensen
12:20: Greg Shultz, Ryan Howard, Morgan Cunningham, Jeff Bain
12:30: Daniel Black, Ryan Segrest, Tanner Wells, Morton Holcomb
12:40: Josh Poole, Jack Svensen, Andrew Gladden, Randy Lipscomb
12:50: Adam Sanders, Harrison Hughston, Chip Howell, Will Reaves
1:00: Freeman Fite, Jackson King, Landon Straub, Andrew Brooks
1:10: Scott Martin, Jeremy McGatha, Jonathan Pate, Lance Evans
1:20: Neill Hatcher, Gary Wigington, Ross Napier, Brennan Clay
1:30: Jacob LeCroy, Clay Guerin, Dalton Chandler, Ty Cole

You must be logged in to post a comment Login