E.A. Sports Today

6A-7 All-Region Team

Region champion Oxford leads the way with 27 players; Higgins, Fegans win top awards

By East Alabama Sports Today

OXFORD – When you have the kind of year Oxford enjoyed in 2020, the rewards just keep rolling in.

Oxford junior corner Trequon Fegans is the Class 6A Region 7 Defensive Player of the Year. Teammate Trey Higgins (cover) is the region Offensive Player of the Year. (Photos by B.J. Franklin)

The Yellow Jackets, who went 11-2 as the defending state champs and lost in the third round of the Class 6A playoffs, placed 27 players on the Class 6A Region 7 All-Region Team, with senior quarterback Trey Higgins being named Offensive Player of the Year and versatile junior Trequon Fegans being named Defensive Player of the Year.

In addition, the Jackets had 12 first-team picks, eight second-team picks and five honorable mention picks.

“I think it’s great,” Jackets coach Keith Etheredge said. “And those two guys definitely deserve it. They both had huge years.”

Higgins was a dual threat quarterback, directing an offense that scored 536 points, accounting for 3,811 yards and 56 touchdowns. At one stretch the Jackets scored 40 points or more in seven straight games. He completed 168 of 260 passes for 2,800 yards and 40 touchdowns and rushed for 1,011 yards and 16 scores. For his career, he accounted for 10,004 yards and 130 touchdowns (both would be ninth on the AHSAA all-time lists).

“He’s a phenomenal player, he’s a winner,” Etheredge said. “And how good of a player he is, he’s even a better kid, a better person. He’s the kind of kid you want leading the team. He’s like another coach on the field. He’s been in the offense; he knows exactly what we want. He does a great job. He fills all the boxes.”

Fegans, a top five corner in the country in his class with college offers from Alabama to Hawaii, was a threat wherever he was on the field. He had four interceptions because teams knew not to throw in his direction, returned several punts for touchdowns (and had several others called back) and although he touched it only 25 times on offense he Only touched the ball 25 times on offense, he had 317 yards and four touchdowns.

“He’s one of those kids who, when you get the ball in his hands, he’s phenomenal,” Etheredge said. “Any time he touches it he can make something happen and everything looks so easy for him.”



Offensive Player of the Year: Trey Higgins, Oxford, Sr.

First team: Michael Rich, Southside, Sr.
Second team: Pearson Baldwin, Springville, Sr.
HM: J.D. Blaylock, Fort Payne, Sr.

Running back
First team: Mathew Turnage, Arab, Sr.; Carnel Davis, Southside, Sr.
Second team: Keeshon Siaosi, Oxford, Jr.;Hunter Love, Ft. Payne, Sr.
HM: David Keith, Pell City, Sr.

Wide receiver
First team: Roc Taylor, Oxford, Sr.; Aulden Battles, Southside, Sr.; Kentrell Borden, Pell City, Jr.; Cam Thomas, Ft. Payne, Sr.; Gage Fredrick, Springville, Sr.; Warren Britt, Oxford, Sr.

Second team: Cody Roberts, Southside, So.; Spencer Strickland, Arab, So.;Bakari Daily, Oxford, Jr.; B.J. Harris, Scottsboro, Sr.; Landon Ho, Springville, Sr.; John Brady Bowman, Arab, Sr.

Tight end/H-back
First team: Sawyer Burt, Fort Payne, Sr.; Ben Bianchi, Springville, Sr.
Second team: Camden Etheredge, Oxford, Jr.; Hayden Fry, Southside, Sr.
HM:Hayden Robertson, Southside, Sr.

Offensive line
First team: Brandon Kirksey Oxford, Sr.; Bradyn Joiner, Oxford, So.; Riley Kuhn, Fort Payne, Sr.; Will Warwick, Southside, Sr.;Kyle Pilkinton, Oxford, Jr.
Second team: Jalyn Gilbert, Pell City, Sr.; C.J. Williams, Springville, Jr.; Eli Frasier, Fort Payne, Jr.; Jeb Bryan, Arab, Jr.; Dedrick Scott, Pell City, So.
HM: Jayden Clark, Arab, Jr.; Tucker Starlin, Oxford, Sr.; Bronson Laney, Fort Payne, Jr.; Nate Robbins, Oxford, Sr.; Tucker Isbell, Springville, Jr.; John Gilbert, Southside, Jr.; Austin Sanderson, Oxford, Sr.; Slade Wyatt, Springville, Jr.


Defensive Player of the Year:Trequon Fegans, Oxford, Jr.

Defensive backs
First team: Delvon Fegans, Oxford, Sr.; Wes Johnson, Arab, Jr.;Rod Elston, Oxford, Sr.;Luke Richardson, Springville, Jr.;Noah Lineville, Scottsboro, Sr.
Second team: Miguel Mitchell, Oxford, Jr.; Hayden O’Reilly, Arab, So.; Harrison Fausnaugh, Pell City, Sr.; Carson Walker, Pell City, Sr.; Taylor Carr, Southside, Jr.
HM:Will Abbott, Fort Payne, Sr.; Jamel Williams, Springville, Sr.; Gauge NeSmith, Southside, Fr.; Darwin Camp, Fort Payne, Sr.

First team: Christian Eaton, Arab, Sr.; Kevin Titi, Oxford, Jr.; Jordan Dobbins, Oxford, Jr.; Cade Holder, Scottsboro, Jr.;Eli Martin, Southside, Sr.; Shaynad Whitfield, Oxford, Jr.
Second team: Connor Land, Springville, Sr.; Lee Robinson, Oxford, Sr.; Matt Frye, Pell City, Sr.; Mitchell Duquette, Arab, Jr.; Chanceton Holifield, Oxford, Sr.;Devin Wells, Fort Payne, Jr.
HM:Seth Williams, Fort Payne, Jr.; Spencer Sharp, Southside, Jr.; Drew Sisson, Pell City, So.; Hunter Sitz, Southside, Sr. 

Defensive line
First team: Camden Treece, Scottsboro, Sr.;Jabree Ford, Oxford, Sr.; Garrett Orr, Southside, Sr.; Dee Dee Davis, Oxford, Sr.; Jalyn Gilbert, Pell City, Sr.; Cody Abts, Springville, Jr.
Second team: Darrell Prater Jr., Fort Payne, Jr.;Cody Morgan, Arab, Sr.;Jonah Warren, Scottsboro, Jr.; Daviunta Ervin, Oxford, Sr.;DJ Salas, Springville, Jr.
HM: Dewey Scott, Springville, Jr.; Ashton Merchant, Springville, Sr.; RJ Taylor, Oxford, Jr.; Heisman Brown, Ft. Payne, Jr.; Jayden Dubose, Fort Payne, Sr.

First team: Jacob Manning, Scottsboro, Sr.
Second team: Bryson Clough, Pell City, Sr.
HM: Gavin McCrany, Scottsboro, Jr.

First team: Alex McPherson, Fort Payne, Jr.
Second team: Gavin Courrier, Arab, Jr.
HM: Nico Gutierrez, Oxford, So.; Hunter Ambrose, Springville, Sr.

First team: Alex McPherson, Fort Payne, Jr.
Second team: Sam Robertson, Oxford, So.
HM: Johnny Wolf, Springville, Jr.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login