E.A. Sports Today

Elite status

Dalton Chandler joins elite group of players to win all three major trophies at Anniston CC, going wire-to-wire to win the club championship

Dalton Chandler went wire-to-wire to win the Anniston Country Club club championship and now has his name on all three major trophies housed at the club.

By Al Muskewitz
East Alabama Sports Today
There are three big trophies housed at Anniston Country Club – the Walker Reynolds Club Championship, the Wilfred Galbraith ACC Invitational and the Sunny King Charity Classic.
Dalton Chandler now has his name on all three.
Chandler joined an elite group of ACC triple crown winners Sunday when he shot a final-round 72 to go wire-to-wire to win the club championship his first time playing it.
He didn’t play as well as the day before, but it was good enough to get the job done.  His two-day total of 4-under-par 136 was five shots better than runner-up Lance Evans. Chase Hollingsworth finished third and Chandler’s dad Ott was fourth.
“I did not play good,” Dalton said. “I had to grind it out.”
He made four birdies on the front in Saturday’s opening round, but turned Sunday in 2-over. He got the round back to even with birdies at 11 and 13 (nearly holing out for eagle), but found the ditch of 14 and made double bogey, bogeyed 16 and birdied 17.
Evens and Hollingsworth both got within three shots on the front nine, but fell back. Evan got within three shots after eight holes, but bogeyed 9 and 10 and fell further back after Chandler’s birdies on 11 and 13. Hollingsworth got within three after seven holes, but bogeyed 9 to turn four shots back and then fell back with bogeys at 12, 13 and 14.  
Chandler picked up the first jewels in the ACC triple crown when he won the Sunny King with his dad in 2015 and the Invitational in 2017. He joined a group that includes Chip Howell, Eric Hamilton, Jaylon Ellison, Garrett Burgess and Jacob LeCroy. 
“It feels like lightning running through my veins,” he said, thoroughly enjoying the moment. “Like Jesus tickling the bottom of my feet, like I’m riding on the back of a zebra through the wild lands of Africa.”
NOTES: Ott Chandler and Charlie Smith posted the best rounds of the day (71) … Adrian Geeting won the first flight, Chase Thomas the second, Tyler Huckaby the third and David Sanders the senior division … Thomas won his flight by two shots, the difference coming on 16 when he re-teed after his original shot hit a utility pole guy wire behind the green and he made par with the do-over instead of a projected 5 … Dalton Chandler’s last individual win came in last July’s Pine Hill Invitational.

Walker Reynolds ACC Club Championship

Championship flight
Dalton Chandler64-72–136
Lance Evans69-72–141
Chase Hollingsworth70-72–142
Ott Chandler72-71–143
Kevin Daugherty69-76–145
Freeman Fite71-75–146
Jake Goggans69-78–147
Tyler Putnam70-78–148
Ryan Howard73-76–148
Tanner Wells73-82–155
Matt Hunter72-84–156

First flight
Adrian Geeting74-73–147
Greg Shultz75-73–148
Chandler Wilborn74-75–149
Chance Harris76-75–151
Ross Svensen75-77–152
Brett Key76-77–153
Rob Davie76-77–153
Charlie Smith75-71–156
Rob Svensen76-80–156
Jack Svensen76-80–156
Caleb Morrow76-80–156
Benji Turley77-WD

Second flight
Chase Thomas78-75–153
Timmy Woodard78-77–155
Ryan Huff80-76–156
Grant Jackson79-78–157
Will Broome81-76–157
Hank Smith80-79–159
Taylor Morrow79-83–162
Mike Putnam82-81–163
Warren Askew81-86–167
Wes Couch81-90–171
Trey Stone81-90–171

Third flight
Tyler Huckaby85-76–161
Kevin Third84-79–162
Graham Morrow88-76–164
John Lindsey85-80–165
Chris Messer83-83–166
Andrew Morris84-85–169
Taylor Jones84-88–172
Amado Ortiz83-93–176
Will Coker89-88–177
Blake Lowery99-92–191
Steve Gendron100-95–195
Clay Blackwell104-100-204

Senior flight
David Sanders67-72–139
Doug Sears74-75–149
Don Springer79-76–155
John Carrozza81-84–165
Bob Kennamer82-83–165
Tom Roberts83-86–169
Rick Taylor91-86–177
Don Whitlow94-90–184

You must be logged in to post a comment Login