E.A. Sports Today

Closing strong

Cole posts best Sunday finish since Cider Ridge, shoots 63 on home course, wins inaugural Marshall County Open by 12
By East Alabama Sports Today
Ty Cole shot a final-round 63, his best Sunday close since Cider Ridge, and won the inaugural Marshall County Open at Big Spring Lake Golf Club. He shot 15-under-par 129 for the two days on his home course and won by 12.
Randy Lipscomb shot two rounds under par (70-71) and finished second. Four players finished at 142.
It was Cole’s seventh individual win of the season and third county Open or Championship. In addition to Sunday, he won five times on the Calhoun County Golf Tour, including the Etowah Open and Calhoun County Championship, and the Dub Ellis Invitational in Centre.
His round Sunday was highlighted by two eagles and seven birdies.
“Just played solid all weekend,” Cole said. “There were a few slip-ups here and there. I made a few more putts today than yesterday.”
In 10 Sunday invitational final rounds this season, Cole has a 67.5 stroke average. In the seven wins, it’s 66.57. His best was a 10-under 62 in a runaway win at Cider Ridge.
Tournament organizers already are planning next year’s event and are hoping to make it a regular event on the Calhoun County Golf Tour calendar.
Championship flight
Ty Cole 66-63—129
Randy Lipscomb 70-71—141
Brian Baugh 69-73—142
Chris Smith 67-75—142
Jodi Wooten 69-73—142
Blake Mozley 70-72—142
Shawn Ledbeter 71-74—145
Brad Baird 72-73—145
Mason Dennis 69-78—147
Mike Lewis 70-83—153
Josh Tanner 70-83—153
First flight
Clint Compton 74-69—143
Michael Chambliss 73-71—144
Ben Bryant 75-72—147
Second flight
Jackson Smith 79-74—153
Jake Ball 78-77—155
Mark Suddaith 78-78—156
Kenny Fulmer 78-80—158
Clay Jones 79-78—158
Randy Spurlin 79-79—158
Lee Castleberry 78-81—159
Patrick Cooper 79-82—161
Dustin McCullars 79-84—163
Lee Jones 81-87—168
Jay Shields 80-92—172
Opie Teague 80-NC
Third flight
Scott Medders 84-75—159
Shawn Gray 82-78—160
Rush Rutledge 84-76—160
Jake Minnix 82-79—161
Ronnie McCullars 84-77—161
Matt Greer 82-80—162
Jeff Day 82-81—163
Jason Shields 85-79—164
Brad Baker 83-83—166
Kyle Rosenbauer 83-83—166
Shane Stone 85-84—169
Buddy McCullars 85-85—170
Todd Mitchem 82-89—171
Blake Erwin 83-89—172
George Morris 85-87—172
Justin Goree 84-92—176
Phillip Mayer 86-91—177
Mitch Arbaugh 86-91—177
Steve Hays 86-93—179
Fourth flight
Chase Watwood 87-81—168
Mason Cothran 88-82—170
Dre Davenport 92-78—170
Eric Kennedy 87-89—176
Ray Slappy 93-85—178
Scott Jimerson 90-89—179
Greg Fails 90-90—180
Jonathan Bright 90-96—186
Phillip Rogers 97-91—188
Mark Crisp 96-94—190
Nick Williams 92-89—191
Shane Boman 97-100—197
Andy Lang 100-98—198
Heath Lancaster 93-109—202
Ladies division
Lisa Jones 77-73—150
Amanda Miller 76-75—151
Hannah Sanders 79-79—158
Kristi Green 86-89—175
Karen Arbaugh 88-90—178
Kim Kirk 92-96—188
Sharon Garrett 96-100—196
Senior division
Neil Kenner 68-71—139
Mike McCullars 72-70—142
Greg Arnold 74-72—146
Frank Barnes 80-76—156
Larry Woodall 80-78—158
James Craft 82-76—158
Mike Colvin 88-75—163
Chuck Meddars 85-81—166
Tom Kozielski 85-83—168
Anthony Bright 84-85—169
Bruce Jones 89-86—175
BJ Graham 88-102—190

You must be logged in to post a comment Login