E.A. Sports Today

Calvert leads Centre

‘Relaxed’ past champion shoots season-best 65 to grab first-round lead in Dub Ellis Invitational; leads by 2
By East Alabama Sports Today
CENTRE – Chad Calvert hasn’t played a lot of golf this summer, but Saturday he put together one of his best rounds of the year to take the first-round lead in the Dub Ellis Invitational at Cherokee County Country Club.
Calvert shot a 6-under-par 65 to take a two-shot lead over Ty Cole in the 36-hole event. David Garrett is third after a 70.
Calvert has played in only one of the last four events on the Calhoun County Golf Tour, but is currently 11thin the Tour points standings. His previous best round this year was a 5-under 67 in the second round of the Cider Ridge Invitational. He had four rounds in the 60s and six rounds under par last year.
“A lot of stress has been here, but the stress is over with and I felt more at ease,” Calvert said. “It was just a fun round of golf, playing with Ty and Luke (Armstrong), going out there and relaxing. Before I was just going out there just to support the Tour and I really wasn’t into it and it doesn’t help when you’re playing bad.”
Calvert, the superintendent at Big Spring Lake Golf Club in Albertville, had eight birdies (one off his season high) and two bogeys that came from bad tee shots on par-3s.
“Tomorrow is going to be fun,” Calvert said. “This will be the first time I’ve been with Ty in the last group in a while and it feels good. I’m just happy to be where I’m at right now. There’s no pressure, I’m relaxed. Everything is behind me. I can look forward.”
At Cherokee County CC, Centre
First-round scores
Championship flight
Chad Calvert 65
Ty Cole 67
David Garrett 70
Scotty McFry 72
Phillip Hicks 73
Steve Baker 74
First flight
Alex Geary 75
Bailey Hancock 76
Johnny Neyman 76
Shane Porter 76
Brian Johnson 77
Jake Ball 77
Kurt Duryea 78
Mike Granato Sr. 78
Paul Wynn 79
Scott Medders 79
Tim Hill 81
Luke Armstrong 83
Carson Garrett 83
George Morris 83
Steven Keen 84
Blake Erwin 87
Sunday’s tee times
10 a.m. – Blake Erwin, Steven Keen, George Morris
10:10 – Carson Garrett, Luke Armstrong, Tim Hill
10:20 – Scott Medders. Paul Wynn, Mike Granato Sr.
10:30 – Kurt Duryea, Jake Ball, Brian Johnson
10:40 – Shane Porter, Johnny Neyman, Bailey Hancock, Alex Geary.
11:30 – Steve Baker, Phillip Hicks, Scotty McFry
11:40 – David Garrett, Ty Cole, Chad Calvert

You must be logged in to post a comment Login