E.A. Sports Today

Cole leads into Championship Sunday

Second 70 in a row gives 2013 champion a 4-shot lead with 18 holes to play in the 79th County Championship

By Al Muskewitz
East Alabama Sports Today

Ty Cole shot a 2-under-par 70 for the second day in a row and takes a four-shot lead into his bid to become winner of the Calhoun County Championship and Calhoun County Player of the Year.

Cole, who posted a 70 Friday using two different putting styles, shot 70 again at Cane Creek with a third putting style closely related to conventional.

He leads former Anniston CC pro Kevin Daugherty by four strokes, Jeremy McGatha by five and Caleb McKinney by six. Daugherty and McGatha also shot 70.

Gary Wigington, who entered the tournament tied with Cole for the player points lead, shot 75 and is seven shots back in his bid to win a record-setting seventh County Championship and fourth straight Player of the Year award.

Cole, the 2013 champion, carried the momentum of his Friday finish into the round Saturday. He eagled 18 to close his opening round and started Round 2 with back-to-back birdies. When he eagled No. 5 he was holding a seven-shot lead.

He gave a shot back with a bogey on 6 when a delicate butterfly broke his concentration on a short putt for par, but stayed comfortably out front throughout the day.

“You always want to lead,” Cole said. “After five holes I thought it could be real good and I could separate myself from (the contenders) and concentrate on the tournament.

“Tomorrow I’m just going to show up and play like I’m tied with everyone else and not think about the lead. If you win the tournament everything else will fall into place. The big thing is to win the tournament.”

The results of Sunday’s play will determine the 16 qualifiers for the Calhoun County Match Play Championship. Projecting their finish based on Saturday’s scores and positions, Cole and Wigington would be the top two seeds, while Dan Griffin and Chandler Wilborn would be tied for 16th.

Defending Match Play champion Andrew Brooks also would qualify for the field.

Championship A
Ty Cole 70-70—140
Kevin Daugherty 74-70—144
Jeremy McGatha 75-70—145
Caleb McKinney 73-73—146
Gary Wigington 72-75—147
Clay Calkins 73-75—148
Dalton Chandler 73-76—149
Andrew Brooks 74-76—150
Austin Minter 72-80—152
Daniel Black 73-81—154
Billy Thompson 73-81—154
Lance Evans 77-77—154

Championship B
Adrian Geeting 79-76—155
Matt Rogers 73-82—155
Chip Howell 78-78—156
Keith Raisanen 78-79—157
Jake Goggans 80-77—157
John Tucker 77-81—158
Layton Bussey 79-79—158
Dan McClellan 75-83—158
Scott Eaton 76-83—159
Dan Griffin 79-85—164
Chandler Wilborn 79-88-167

First flight
Nick Pollard 72
Chris Maye 75
Jacob Lecroy 76
Dave Dillman 78
Dakota Yawn 80
Vinny Floyd 81
Layne Dyar 81

Second flight
Bo Savage 83
Don Hill 83
Britton Proper 85
Steve Davis 86
Rick Dickson 87
T.J. McGatha 87
Dalton Leatherwood 87
Heath Waldrop 87
Will Coker 88
John McKenzie 88

Third flight
Greg Rainey 89
Kyle Turner 89
Rocco D’Gomez 90
Jimbo Phillips 91
Sean Hayes 91
Kelly Rogers 91
Corey Trantham 91
Kane Gibson 92
Marshall Dunn 103
Tyler Teneyck 105

Sunday’s pairings
Third flight
9 a.m. – Tyler Teneyck, Marshall Dunn, Kane Gibson, Corey Trantham
9:16 – Jimbo Phillips, Sean Hayes, Kelly Rogers
9:24 – Rocco D’Gomez, Greg Rainey, Kyle Turner
Second flight
9:32 – Will Coker, John McKenzie, Rich Dickson, T.J. McGatha
9:48 – Dalton Leatherwood, Steve Davis, Heath Waldrop
9:56 – Britton Proper, Bo Savage, Don Hill
First flight
10:12 – Vinny Floyd, Layne Dyar, Dakota Yawn
10:20 – Dave Dillman, Jacob Lecroy, Chris Maye, Nick Pollard
Championship B
10:36 – Chandler Wilborn, Dan Griffin, Scott Eaton, John Tucker
10:44 – Layton Bussey, Dan McClellan, Keith Raisanen, Jake Goggans
10:54 – Chip Howell, Adrian Geeting, Matt Rogers
Championship A
11:02 – Daniel Black, Billy Thompson, Lance Evans
11:10 – Austin Minter, Andrew Brooks, Dalton Chandler
11:18 – Clay Calkins, Gary Wigington, Caleb McKinney
11:26 – Jeremy McGatha, Kevin Daugherty, Ty Cole

(Based on Saturday’s scores)

Ty Cole 1550
Gary Wigington 1385
Jeremy McGatha 1312.5
Dalton Chandler 1195
Kevin Daugherty 1042.5
Caleb McKinney 1017.5
Clay Calkins 915
Ott Chandler 904.2
Billy Thompson 899.2
Adrian Geeting 891.25
Matt Rogers 836.25
Daniel Black 832.5
Andrew Brooks 825
Lance Evans 811.7
Jake Goggans 763.75
Dan Griffin 757.5
Chandler Wilborn 757.5

(On the bubble)
Janson Wilborn 732.5
Jacob Lecroy 680
Austin Minter 677.5
Cole McNeal 657.5
Chip Howell 652.5
Nick Pollard 612.5
Dan McClellan 586.25
Jonathan Pate 512.5
Keith Raisanen 506.25
Eric Cannington 497.5
Benji Turley 495

You must be logged in to post a comment Login