E.A. Sports Today

Local teams rule Slaughterhouse

[corner-ad id=1]McGatha, Rogers win it with fast start; 4 Calhoun County teams among top 6

By East Alabama Sports Today

PELL CITY – Jeremy McGatha and Matt Rogers opened their final round Sunday with birdies on nine of their first 11 holes and the run carried them to their second straight Slaughterhouse Tournament title at Pell City Country Club.

They shot a final-round scamble 61 for a two-day total 23-under-par 121. They won by three shots over Chris Hubbard and Clay Calkins, another Calhoun County pair who shot up the leaderboard with a run of five straight birdies for their second straight 62.

In fact, Calhoun County teams held three of the top four spots and four of the first six. Ott and Dalton Chandler finished fourth (126), while Benji Turley and Eric Cannington finished tied for fifth (127).

“It was a big win; we were both nervous,” McGatha said. “Matt made a ton of putts this weekend. I think I grinded so hard at Anniston trying to win (the ACC Invitational) that I hadn’t made any putts since and Matt’s been making them. He made some big ones to help us out.

“Coming down the stretch he held us in there. I’m hitting the driver and irons good, but not getting it in the hole and Matt’s getting it in the hole.”

The winners started on No. 2 and began their round birdie-par. They birdied 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9, parred 1 to complete the front nine, then birdied their next two holes. The longest putt they had to make in the run was Rogers’ 18-footer on the par-3 fifth.

“In a scamble when you go 9-under through 11 holes … we were cooking,” McGatha said. “Last year it was low-ball and we played lights out. We always seem to play great when it’s our own ball.”

Hubbard and Calkins made their big move on the back nine with five straight birdies.

“Hub and I really played well, but Jeremy and Matt are tough,” Calkins said. “You never want to finish second, but Jeremy and Matt are tough to catch.”

Slaughterhouse Tournament
At Pell City CC

Championship flight
Matt Rogers-Jeremy McGatha 60-61—121
Chris Hubbard-Clay Calkins 62-62—124
Bobby McClung-B.G. Simmons 61-64—125
Ott Chandler-Dalton Chandler 63-63—126
Rodney Talley-Glen Hawkins 60-67—127
Benji Turley-Eric Cannington 60-67—127
Jeff Champion-Lane Golden 61-68—129
Shawn Reider-Bob Freeman 63-72—135

First flight
Kenny Fulmer-Tim Fulmer 65-64—129
Jack Alverson-Gene Crane 65-64—129
Mike Pinson-Rick Carden 66-63—129
Jimmy Ray-Skeet Harper 65-65—130
Paul Woo-John Harris 64-68—132
Jimbo Phillips-Dee Pruitt 65-68—133
Ed Deason-Chris Deason 65-70—135

Second flight
Bobby Demby-Newt Ogletree 67-65—132
Andrew Lee-David Donahue 67-65—132
Ken Sisk-Ron Ferguson 66-67—133
Ken Roe-Harvey Gaither 66-72—138
Rusty Perkins-Gene Eades 66-74—140
John Cavaness-Wesley Watkins 67-76—143
Jay Watson-Richard Pryor 68-77—145

Third flight
Caleb McKinney-Cole McNeal 70-64—134
Todd Pierce-D.D. Luckey 69-69—138
Tucker Wilder-Sawyer Stice 71-68—139
Jay Smith-Jack Eades 70-69—139
David Morrow-Mike Lee 70-69—139
Porkchop-T Bone 69-72—141
Ken Johnson-Mack McCullars 71-72—143
Andrew Jones-Bret Isbell 71-74—145

Fourth flight
Eric Isbell-Eric Barker 72-70—142
Tim Humphreys-Craig Humphreys 73-70—143
Shane Cleckler-Randy Cleckler 73-70—143
Gene Ellison-Bill Vinson 72-73—145
Corey Isbell-Mark Wood 72-73—145
Al Hawkins-Derrol Luker 74-73—147
Sean Hayes-Vince Floyd 72-76—148
Gary Hurst-Gerald Swinford 74-80—154
Adam Stocks-Rusty Jessup 75-79—154
Roger Joiner-Carolyn Bedford 82-84—166

You must be logged in to post a comment Login