E.A. Sports Today

Centre stage

[corner-ad id=2]Gann, Underwood win Cherokee County CC Two-Man; Chandlers win at Pine Hill

By East Alabama Sports Today

CENTRE — George Gann and Eric Underwood went looking for a place to play to salvage the weekend and came away winning a championship.

The two longtime Scottsboro friends were scheduled to play elsewhere, but their plans changed when the event got cancelled. Underwood was coming down from Nashville and so as not to make it a wasted weekend they commenced to make an alternate plan.

Seeing the course for the first time, they shot rounds of 56 and 58 to win the Cherokee County Country Club Two-Man. Their two-day 28-under-par 214 was four shots better than Wayne and 12-year-old Dawson Garrett, who shot 59 Sunday and passed first-round co-leaders Kenny Fulmer and Randy Lipscomb for second place.

Gann, a former minor-league baseball player, and Underwood, a former Mississippi State quarterback, shot 6-under on the front to distance themselves from playing partners Fulmer and Lipscomb, but the Dawsons gained ground with a 7-under on the side.

The winners sealed the deal with birdies on six of their last seven holes. Gann won a closest-to-the-pin prize by hitting it inside three feet on No. 17.

“They played pretty good,” Lipscomb said of the champions. “We just couldn’t make anything on the front. I’m just proud we didn’t give up. It would’ve been easy playing with those two.”

Byron Reed and Chris Hancock shot a Sunday 59 and won the first flight by three shots (123).

Austin Minter and Bill Owens won a one-day shootout in the second flight with an 8-under 63.

Chandlers win at Pine Hill

Ott and Dalton Chandler birdied the par-5 18th – the first hole of a playoff – to beat Doug Bragg and Dennis Reaves to win the championship flight of the Memorial Day Weekend Fun Fest at Pine Hill Country Club. Each winner of the four flights received an entry into the 2015 Sunny King Charity Classic.

The Chandlers shot 62-63–125 in the scramble-scamble format to get into the playoff.

Cherokee County CC Two-Man
Final results

Championship flight
George Gann-Eric Underwood 56-58—114
Wayne Garrett-Dawson Garrett 59-59—118
Kenny Fulmer-Randy Lipscomb 56-63—119
Jeff Champion-Kevin Daugherty 61-59—120
Jeremy Willis-Ryan Zebeau 62-61—123
Jeremy McGatha-Matt Rogers 61-63—124
Jon Bailey-Adam Lawrence 60-66—126
Jake Minnix-Lee Morgan 61-66—127
Mark Cantrell-David Dowling 62-66—128
Jeff Noah-Lee Vinson 63-68—131
Ted Heim-Allen Mangham 63-69—132
Tim Gamble-Moose Hicks 63-72—135
David Garrett-Caden Garrett 63-WD

First flight
Byron Reed-Chris Hancock 64-59—123
Dee Pruitt-Eric Lewis 67-59—126
Kurt Duryea-Tim Hill 65-65—130
Sid Garrett-Scott Tucker 64-66—130
Mark Hardeman-Chris Jarrett 67-64—131
Steve Baker-Mike Terry 64-68—132
Keith Atkinson-Tim Trammell 66-68—134
Adam Weaver-Robin Wood 67-67—134
Gary Webb-Don Webb 66-70—136
George Morris-Wade Trailer 67-71—138
Johnny Bentley-Jeff Woodall 67-71—138

Second flight
Austin Minter-Bill Owens 31-32—63
Scott Hays-Bobby Mintz 32-33—65
Larry Haynes-Jason Traylor 31-34—65
Larry Barber-Ricky Hairston 34-32—66
Scotty McFry-Jay Wilson 31-35—66
Adam Cochran-Levi Cochran 32-37—69
Scott Farrar-Ted Nowak 39-36—75
Burt-Burt 40-39—79
Aaron Burt-Jared Hulgan 41-39—80
Dewayne Rainey-Jeff Carpenter 41-40—81

You must be logged in to post a comment Login