E.A. Sports Today

Scholarship winners

The Calhoun County Quarterback Club awarded three $5,000 scholarships to county football players Thursday at Anniston Country Club. QB Club captain Danny Shears (far left) announced this year’s recipients: (from left) Konnor Baswell of Ohatchee, Sean Smith of Piedmont and Jett Smith of Wellborn.

The recipients were selected from a pool of nine finalists. “It was very tough to pick our three winners,” Shears said. “There are some very fine young men in the county.”

Jett Smith, the state Class 3A Lineman of the Year, will be going to Jacksonville State. Sean Smith is headed to Wallace State to play baseball. Baswell will be attending Gadsden State.

The Quarterback Club will be entering its 75th season next year. Shears will again be club captain.

Photo by B.J. Franklin

You must be logged in to post a comment Login