E.A. Sports Today

Tie at the top

Hathorn-LeCroy, Clay-McGatha both shoot 60, lead County Team Championship by 3 going into Championship Sunday

Dalton Chandler (L) accepts the 2017 Calhoun County Golf Tour Player of the Year crystal from CCGT director Jeremy McGatha. (Photo by Brant Locklier)

By Brant Locklier
For East Alabama Sports Today

SILVER LAKES – There’s a tie at the top after the first round of the Calhoun County Team Championship at Silver Lakes.

The teams of Cypress Hathorn-Lewis LeCroy and Jeremy McGatha-Brennan Clay both posted 12-under-par 60. They lead the teams of Gary Wigington-Ty Cole and Cory Etter-Caleb Bowen by three shots.

Chase Thomas made a hole-in-one on the second hole of the Backbreaker 9. Thomas and Timmy Woodard shot 64.

A few hours after the final shot of the first round, the Calhoun County Golf Tour recognized its 2017 statistical award winners and Dalton Chandler was presented with his 2017 County Tour Player of the Year award.

Chandler won a record four Tour events in the season and finished second in two others. He set the Tour season scoring record with a 68.25 stroke average, bolstered by a Tour-leading 86 birdies and a 62-percent scrambling average.

“It’s a big accomplishment and I have put in a lot of practice time, sometimes 8-12 hours a day,” Chandler said of the Player of the Year award. “I am going to JSU right now so I do not have to work a job like most others and I think having all that practice time has helped me a lot.”

Chandler went into the 2017 season entertaining thoughts of turning pro after a successful season. He does plan to play some Web.com qualifiers this season, but he’s not too quick to give up his amateur status – yet.

”I have some Web tournaments in Knoxville and some other places, but I will still be playing the county events this year,” he said. “It is tough in those Web tournaments and I will learn a lot. I am not turning pro, but if I win a boatload of money in some of those tournaments, then I will be moving on.”


At Silver Lakes
First round scores

Cypress Hathorn-Lewis LeCroy 60
Brennan Clay-Jeremy McGatha 60
Gary Wigington-Ty Cole 63
Cory Etter-Caleb Bowen 63
Timmy Woodard-Chase Thomas 64
Layton Bussey-Adrian Geeting 64
Gary Wilborn-Jacob LeCroy 64
Ott Chandler-Dalton Chandler 64
Chris Hubbard-Chad Watson 65
Matt Rogers-Andrew Brooks 66
Randy Lipscomb-Casey Harmon 67
Tony Hicks-Nick Hubbard 67
Rick Okins-Kenny Okins 67
Gage Smith-Tyler Jackson 67
Alex Harper-Austin Minter 67
Jacob Sittre-Steven Crane 67
Tanner Wells-Chase Hollingsworth 68
Clayton Chandler-Josh Jackson 68
Kevin Daugherty-Kyle Daugherty 68
Jake Goggans-Rob Davie 69
Kaine Gibson-Don Hill 69
Chad Calvert-Daily Thomas 69
Ron McClellan-Ted Heim 70
Justin Graveman-Patrick Crane 70
Lance Evans-Chandler Wilborn 70
Brian Woodfin-David Sanders 71
Graham Morrow-Kevin Rodgers 72
Blake Abercrombie-Alex Jessen 73
Derek Sewell-Matt Miller 73
Cain Hollingsworth-Taylor O’Conner 73
Jarrod Driggers-Ricky Carden 74
Kevin Wells-Mark Gaines 75

Sunday pairings

7:30 a.m. – Kevin Wells, Mark Gaines, Jarrod Driggers, Ricky Carden
7:40 – Cain Hollingsworth, Taylor O’Conner, Derek Sewell, Matt Miller
7:50 – Blake Abercrombie, Alex Jessen, Graham Morrow, Kevin Rodgers
8:00 – Brian Woodfin, David Sanders, Lance Evans, Chandler Wilborn
8:10 – Justin Graveman, Patrick Crane, Ron McClellan, Ted Heim
8:20 – Jake Goggans, Rob Davie, Kaine Gibson, Don Hill
8:30 – Chad Calbert, Daily Thomas, Kevin Daugherty, Kyle Daugherty
8:40 – Clayton Chandler, Josh Jackson, Tanner Wells, Chase Hollingsworth
8:50 – Jacob Sittre, Steven Crane, Gage Smith, Tyler Jackson
9:00 – Tony Hicks, Nick Hubbard, Rick Okins, Kenny Okins
9:10 – Alex Harper, Austin Minter, Randy Lipscomb, Casey Harmon
9:20 – Matt Rogers, Andrew Brooks, Chris Hubbard, Chad Watson
9:30 – Ott Chandler, Dalton Chandler, Gary Wilborn, Jacob LeCroy
9:40 – Layton Bussey, Adrian Geeting, Timmy Woodard, Chase Thomas
9:50 – Corey Etter, Caleb Bowen, Gary Wigington, Ty Cole
10:00 – Brennan Clay, Jeremy McGatha, Cypress Hathorn, Lewis LeCroy

You must be logged in to post a comment Login