E.A. Sports Today

Cole shoots 61

Defending champion matches the Dub Ellis Invitational record he set a year ago, leads by 4

By East Alabama Sports Today

CENTRE – Ty Cole picked up at Cherokee County Country Club where he left off last year, firing a 10-under-par 61 to grab the first-round lead in the Dub Ellis Invitational.

Cole, the defending champion, was sharp with his irons and made only two putts outside three feet all round. He leads by four over Brennan Clay and Chad Calvert.

Cole shot a record-setting 61 in the opening-round last year on his way to winning the title.

“Centre is starting to grow on me,” he said.

Calvert shot a bogey-free 65. “It’s just nice to be playing better,” he said.

Clay started hot, getting to 5-under through seven holes, but slowed down in the middle of his round and then birdied 14, 16 and 17 coming home.

At Cherokee County CC

Saturday scores

Championship flight
Ty Cole 61
Brennan Clay 65
Chad Calvert 65
Jeremy McGatha 67
Adrian Geeting 68
Nick Sawyer 68
Jake Minnix 69

First flight
Skylar Dennis 71
Jordan Bethune 72
Graham Morrow 73
Walt Drake 73
Frank Brady 73
Chris Maye 73
Tim Hill 74
Sid Garrett 74
Lee Morgan 75
Scott Hays 75
Matt Rogers 75
Dustin Underwood 75
Cory Tanner 75

Second flight
Seth Dodd 76
David Garrett 76
Mark Still 76
Mark Sawyer 76
Brad Baire 76
Tim Woodward 77
Jeff Woodall 78
Daniel Whittaker 79
Allen Keen 80
Nick Wheeler 81
Caleb Morrow 81
Luke Armstrong 81
Bobby Graham 83
Terry Tallent 83
Russell Chambers 83
Derek Epperson 83

Third flight
Chris McHugh 84
Steve Thomas 84
Jeff Keen 84
Seth Collette 85
Scotty McFry 85
Dale Owens 85
Cason Campbell 87
Danny Owens 87
Daily Thomas 88
Kenny Johnson 89
Scott Petty 90
Clay Allen 90
Kelly Rogers 95
Tim Smith 97

Senior Flight 1
John Stanley 66
Bobby Pope 70
Mike Granato Sr. 70
T.J. McGatha 72

Senior Flight 2
Billy Mack Garrett 80
Johnny Neyman 81
Phillip Hicks 81
Wayne Still 87
Frank Cobb 96

Sunday tee times
8 a.m. — Frank Cobb, Wayne Still, Johnny Neyman
8:10 — Phillip Hicks, Billy Mack Garrett, T.J. McGatha
8:20 — Mike Granato, Bobby Pope, John Stanley
8:30 — Tim Smith, Kelly Rogers, Clay Allen
8:40 — Scott Petty, Kenny Johnson, Daily Thomas
8:50 — Danny Owens, Cason Campbell, Dale Owens, Scotty McFry
9:00 — Seth Collette, Jeff Keen, Steve Thomas, Chris McHugh
9:10 — Derek Epperson, Russell Chambers, Terry Tallent, Bobby Graham
9:20 — Luke Armstrong, Caleb Morrow, Nick Wheeler, Allen Keen
9:30 — Daniel Whittaker, Jeff Woodall, Tim Woodward, Brad Baire
9:40 — Mark Sawyer, Mark Still, David Garrett, Seth Dodd
9:50 — Cory Tanner, Dustin Underwood, Matt Rogers
10:00 — Scott Hays, Lee Morgan, Sid Garrett
10:10 — Tim Hill, Chris Maye, Frank Brady
10:20 — Walt Drake, Graham Morrow, Jordan Bethune, Skylar Dennis
10:30 — Jake Minnix, Nick Sawyer, Adrian Geeting
10:40 — Jeremy McGatha, Chad Calvert, Brennan Clay, Ty Cole

You must be logged in to post a comment Login