E.A. Sports Today

Golf report

Cotton scores first ace, results from Bubba Scramble at Cherokee County CC, pairings for various high school sectionals that start Monday

By East Alabama Sports Today

Mark Cotton had a hole-in-one Sunday at Silver Lakes. It was on the Heartbreak nine, No. 8, from 150 yards with a 7-iron. Chic Nix, Bryan Moore and Don Hill were in the foursome to witness Cotton’s first-ever ace.

Bubba Scramble Results
CENTRE — Here are the winning scores from the Bubba Scramble at Cherokee County CC Saturday. The tournament enjoyed its largest field ever – 40 players.

First flight
Jake Minnix 60
Bubba Smith 61
Robin Wood 62

Second flight
Eddie Robertson 67
Adam Weaver 67
T.J. McGatha 67

Third flight
J.H. Connell 71
Dewayne Sprayberry 71
Larry Reynolds 72

Fourth flight
Larry Barber 74
Dewayne Rainey 74
Ricky Young 76


Monday, at Anniston CC
Hole 1 – Jacob LeCroy, Donoho; Nick Sawyer, Cedar Bluff; John Hilliard Catanzaro, Westbrook
2 – Jack Svensen, Donoho; Mark Sawyer, Cedar Bluff; William Weathington, Westbrook
3 – Harrison Hughston, Donoho; Ross Johnson Cedar Bluff; Jackson Bowman, Westbrook
4 – Holden Abernathy, Donoho; Ryne Burt, Cedar Bluff; Jared Patterson, Westbrook Christian
6 – Buddy Ray, Donoho; J.R. Pirani, Westbrook; Payne Stancil, West End
8 – Matt Wilson, Section; Austin Wade, Skyline; Lane Ingram, Valley Head
10 – Colby Smith, Section; Seth Chapman, Skyline; Ethan Harrison, Valley Head
11 – Hunter Blanton, West End; Hunter Wilson, Section; Gavin Arnold, Skyline
13 – Braden Henderson, Valley Head; Phillip Wall, West End; Korey Kipp, Section
14 – Garrison Woodall, Skyline; Justin Blansit, Valley Head; Brennen Fleming, West End
16 – Bryce Milligan, Section; Hunter Tucker, West End; John Hutto, Donoho
17 – Jason Howard, Trevor McWilliams, Ridge McHugh
18 – Hunter Comeau, Manning Morris

Monday, at Twin Bridges
Hole 1A — Brock McNeely, Glencoe; Logan Forrester, Geraldine; Ethan Johnson, Pleasant Valley
1B — Ethan Womack, Glencoe; Brandon Bright, Geraldine; Brooks Davis, Pleasant Valley
18A — Blake Maxwell, Glencoe; Cory Clayborn, Geraldine; J.T. Barthell, Pleasant Valley
18B — Brandon Martin, Glencoe; Riley Sisk, Geraldine; Colby Gaines, Pleasant Valley
17 — Garrett Fairley, Glencoe; Casey Reevew, Geraldine; Bock McSheridan, Pleasant Valley
16 — Jordan Yancey, Glencoe; Adam Shavers, Pisgah; Colton Harris, Pleasant Valley
15A — Jake Duvall, Pisgah; Evan Marshall, Pleasant Valley
15B — Dylan Kelley, Brindlee Mountain; Hunter Hill, North Sand Mountain; Will Bedwell, Piedmont
14 — Triston Cantrell, Brindlee Mountain; Hunter Vest, North Sand Mountain; Ethan Floyd, Piedmont
13 — Hunter Green, Brindlee Mountain; Noah Higdon, North Sand Mountain; Nick Coheley, Piedmont
12 — Michael Stark, Brindlee Mountain; Terry Holley, North Sand Mountain; Draven Lipscomb, Piedmont
11A — Sawyer Knight, Brindlee Mountain; Tanner Stone, North Sand Mountain; Gabe Tonogan, Weaver
11B — Kristian Walsh, North Sand Mountain; Dylan Roberts, Weaver
10A — Eddie Ferguson, Ohatchee; Brock Murphy, Weaver
10B — Dalton Epps, Wellborn; Nolan Howie, Weaver

Monday, at Limestone Springs
10 a.m. – S. Miller, C. McCareeth, J.R. Young, C. Contris
10:10 – W. Patrick, C. Hayes, L. Goss, T. Marsh
10:20 – C. Davidson, N. Griffin, B. McGatha, M. Jones
10:30 – L. McCracken, J. Davis, C. Garner, J. Jones
10:40 – H. Miller, A. Miller, E. Atkinson, J. Black
10:50 – C. Cole, A. Davis, W. Robertson, D. Tidmore
11:00 – D. Rich, E. Redden, T. Winchester, P.J. Sotelo
11:10 – P. Wynn, G. Burrage, H. Coker, K. Morgan
11:20 – B. McFall, C. Jones, C. Ridgeway, K. King

Tuesday, at Silver Lakes
9 a.m. – Hope Cone, Westbrook; Lauren Cole, Glencoe
9:10 – Ellie Porter, Westbrook; Cara Borders, Weaver
9:20 – Gabby Fagan, Pleasant Valley; Sydney Fairchild, Westbrook
9:30 – Autumn Ray, Weaver; Gracie Guyton, Westbrook
9:40 – Sarah Ford, Pleasant Valley; Carmella Reese, Weaver
9:50 – Abby Powell, Glencoe; Lauren Cobb, Pleasant Valley
10:00 – Gracie Davis, Pleasant Valley; Marlee Carroll, Weaver; Camryn Blackwell, Glencoe
10:10 – Abbie Vingers, Sacred Heart; Alyssa Gilley, Spring Garden; Kelsey Draper, Pisgah
10:20 – Marlie Wright, Pleasant Valley; Lauren Weaver, Westbrook; Kallie Ingram, Valley Head
10:30 – Russell Givens, Cedar Bluff; Anna Nichols, Westbrook; Ella Floyd, Piedmont; Katie Knight, Pleasant Valley

Tuesday, at Gunters Landing
8 a.m. – Claire Coker, Guntersville; Zena Roden, Sardis; Sydney Hanson, Boaz
8:10 – Hope Harrell, Guntersville; Ivy Roberts, Sardis; Alexis Parker, Boaz
8:20 – Emolee Milligan, Guntersville; Kerigan Wills, Sardis; Kayla Walker, Douglas
8:30 – Hanna Muse, Guntersville; Sage Jackson, Valley
8:50 – Dallas Duncan, Valley; Miranda Nassif, Etowah; Amber Bigelow, Hokes Bluff
9:00 – Caitlin Roland, Jacksonville; Carly Campbell, Etowah; Mazin Lowe, Hokes Bluff
9:10 – Kaina Griffith, Etowah; Abagail Reeves, Hokes Bluff
9:30 – Abby Stevens, Alexandria; Madelyn Friday, Sylacauga; Hanna Dyar, White Plains
9:40 – Megan Harvey, Alexandria; Lindsey Gordon, Sylacauga; Lexee Cunningham, White Plains
9:50 – Destiny Heathcock, Alexandria; Caitlyn McTier, Sylacauga; Baylie Webb, White Plains
10:00 – Gracie Muncher, Alexandria; Alex White, Sylacauga; Allison Arenth, White Plains
10:20 – Robyn Blakey, Leeds; Victoria Annie Ozment, Childersburg; Abbey Gattis, White Plains
10:30 – Halli Turner, Alexandria; Ashley Kelley, Sylacauga; Ary Rosario, White Plains
10:40 – Olivia Bolton, Sylacauga; Caitlin Lewis, White Plains

YOU’RE INVITED: Entries are now being accepted for the 85th annual Gadsden Country Club Invitational, May 19-21. Entry fee for the 54-hole (championship flight) stroke-play event is $190. Player flights begin Saturday and will be flighted after the round. A Senior flight is available. Players must declare their flight preference when registering.

Deadline for entries is May 17 or whenever the field reaches 124 players. For more information contact Gadsden CC director of golf Matt Ganshaw at 546-2011 or mganshaw@hotmail.com

ACC INVITATIONAL: The Gadsden Invitational slid into dates on the local golf calendar previously occupied by the Wilfred Galbraith Anniston Country Club Invitational. ACC officials moved their dates — this year — to May 27-29 to avoid a conflict with a major state event.

Entry fee is $200, which includes unlimited practice rounds (May 23-25, cart fee not included), which includes golf, a Friday night party and all the tournament amenities. The blue-tee championship flight will be determined by Friday’s scores, with the non-qualifiers and other players moving into the white-tee Player Flights that begin play Saturday. Deadline for entries is May 23.

It will be ACC pro Steven Driggers’ first Galbraith Invitational as he was a few weeks out from moving into the job when last year’s event was staged. He’s looking forward to the club’s showcase event.

“The golf course is really starting to look good, so I’m excited about the summer and all of our events,” Driggers said. “We have some guys who are playing well right now also, so I’m looking forward to seeing how they do.”

You must be logged in to post a comment Login