E.A. Sports Today

Falcons put it together

Donoho uses best round of the year to finish solid second in Oxford Invitational, White Plains third; Hewitt-Trussville wins for fourth year in a row, Pinson Valley’s O’Toole (-5) medalist

By East Alabama Sports Today

OXFORD — Donoho golf coach Garrett Burgess always knew his team was capable of shooting a round like it had Tuesday in the final round of the Oxford Invitational, it was just a matter of “stringing it together.”

The Falcons bounced back from losing the Calhoun County Championship in a playoff to put together their best round of the season – 306 – to finish second to Hewitt-Trussville at Cider Ridge Golf Club. The Huskies won the tournament for the fourth year in a row.

Donoho posted three rounds in the 70s to match the Huskies for low round of the day. The Falcons finished 13 shots behind the winners, but were 25 shots ahead of third-place White Plains, the team that beat them in on the first hole of the county team playoff Saturday.

“They’ve been capable of doing it all year, it’s just stringing it together,” Burgess said. “They played good today. We’ve just been trying to tell them to focus one hole, one shot at a time, and what happens happens.”

Harrison Hughston shot the Falcons’ low round of the day (74) and finished tied for tenth (155). They also counted 76s from Jacob LeCroy and Holden Abernathy and an 80 from Jack Svensen. LeCroy finished tied for seventh (153).

“The players could have responded differently and moped around,” Burgess said, “but they put it in the mindset that this was kind of a stepping stone to see where we’re at. It was good for them kind of get knocked down to bring themselves back up. We just need a good couple weeks to get them where they need to be and hopefully all will go well.”

Pinson Valley’s Caleb O’Toole shot two rounds under par to win medalist honors. O’Toole posted a final-round 71 to go with his opening-round 68 and won by 10 shots over Bob Jones’ Austin Russell and Hewitt-Trussville’s Noah Dennis.

The Huskies also placed Dylan Webb and Reed Love in the top five on the way to a two-day total 612 the Wildcats couldn’t catch from their overnight-second perch.

Calhoun County medalist Cameron McCareeth gave White Plains its low round of the day (76) as the Wildcats made a 16-shot improvement over their opening round. The Wildcats also counted the scores of Josh Davis (79), Nathan Griffin (80) and Colman Hayes (82) in the round.

Oxford made a 20-shot improvement over its opening-round score after coach Cale Wright’s post-round talk on character and life but finished 12th. Jake Munroe had the Yellow Jackets’ best round of the day (82) and was their top finisher for the tournament at 167.

At Cider Ridge GC, Oxford
Team scores
Hewitt Trussville 306-306—612
Donoho 319-306—625
White Plains 333-317—650
Oak Mountain 329-324—653
Briarwood 333-329—662
Bob Jones 336-330—666
Gadsden City 340-329—669
Southside 337-334—671
Clay Central 335-344—679
James Clemens 343-344—687
Pell City 351-345—696
Oxford 360-340—700
Hokes Bluff 388-380—768

Caleb O’Toole, PV 68-71—139
Austin Chandler, BJ 78-71—149
Noah Dennis, HT 73-76—149
Dylan Webb, HT 77-74—151
Reed Love, HT 73-79—152
Ken Goforth, OM 79-73—152
Jacob LeCroy, Don 77-76—153
Chris Edwards, HT 77-76—153
Cameron McCareeth, WP 78-76—154
Harrison Hughston, Don 81-74—155
Austin Collar, HT 80-75—155
Logan Bowman, PC 78-77—155
Logan McCracken, HT 84-74—158
Holden Abernathy, Don 82-76—158
Matthew Herritt, Bwood 80-78—158
Landon Miles, JC 80-78—158
Peyton Glass, HT 83-77—160
Carson Beaver, HT 83-77—160
Jack Svensen, Don 81-80—161
Gavin Deck, GC 83-78—161
Josh Davis, WP 82-79—161
AndreFlores, BJ 84-88—162
Dawson Atkinson, HT 83-79—162
Hill McCrory, JC 80-82—162
Sawyer Stice, PC 82-81—163
Nick Lyda, OM 83-80—163
Dawson Harry, Clay 79-84—163
Riley Sanford, Clay 81-82—163
Andrew McCary, Bwood 83-81—164
Slade McCraw, Bwood 84-80—164
Barnes Stacey, GC 83-81—164
Jeremy Allen, Ox 86-78—164
Andrew Oldham, Sside 80-85—165
Davis Brown, GC 82-83—165
Luke Boyd, Sside 86-80—166
Hayden Lee, Sside 87-80—167
Blake Batchelor, BJ 83-84—167
Jonathan Zaleski, OM 80-87—167
Jake Munroe, Ox 85-82—167
Spencer Russell, Bwood 83-85—168
Tanner Wilder, PC 87-81—168
Cole Contris, HB 84-84—168
Colman Hayes, WP 87-82—169
Buddy Ray, Don 80-90—170
Chris Brignet, OM 87-84—171
Gavin Burrage, WP 86-86—172
Michael Rich, Sside 84-89—173
Blair Bailey, Clay 85-89—174
Will Turley, Ox 91-84—175
Cole Sibley, Bwood 91-86—177
Cooper Blevins, Bwood 86-91—177
Trey Philpott, OM 89-88—177
John Dobbs, PV 89-88—177
Devon Downs, Sside 91-87—178
Tyler Gibson, BJ 91-87—178
Ben Koury, GC 92-87—179
Brock Cook, JC 91-88—179
Layton Whitley, Clay 90-89—179
Andrew Miller, WP 96-88—184
John Hutto, Don 94-91—185
Matthew Jones, HB 95-90—185
Nathan Griffin, WP 86-80—166
P.J. Sotelo, WP 95-91—186
Preston Caine, HT 89-101—190
Jason Howard, Don 95-95—190
Austin Schamburg, JC 92-98—190
Devon Pearce, JC 98-96—194
Keaton Borrelli, Ox 98-96—194
Jeremy Black, HB 96-100—196
Brock Lawley, Sside 99-97—196
Harmon Conger, WP 99-99—198
Jaxson Fillingim, Ox 98-102—200
Sawyer Wolfe, Clay 100-99—201
Hudson Hughes, PC 104-106—210
Taylor Harris, Ox 102-110—212
Ethan Whitcomb, HB 115-106—221
Scott Reido, BJ 113-109—222
Hunter Wert, Ox 109-114—223
Josh Jones, HB 113-113—226
Houston Russell, PC 105-WD

You must be logged in to post a comment Login