E.A. Sports Today

Evans, Hathorn advance

Hathorn sinks clutch birdie putt on final hole to send ACC team into match play of State Four-Ball; pairings for 4A-5A substate at ACC

By East Alabama Sports Today

MONTGOMERY – Lance Evans and Cypress Hathorn qualified for match play in the 34th Alabama State Four-Ball Championship and they got in by slimmest of margins.

Hathorn sank a seven-foot birdie putt on the team’s final hole for the Anniston Country Club team to hit the qualifying score on the number. They shot 2-under-par 70 Friday at Wynlakes Golf & Country Club for a two-day 7-under 137.

They are seeded 15th and will play No. 2 seed Will Swift and Clay Guerin of Hoover/Birmingham in their first-round match Saturday.

“It just worked out,” Evans said. “Neither one of us played good today. We’re lucky to be where we’re at.”

They started the day at 5-under, but gave back two shots with three-putt bogeys on their second and third holes of the day. They got back to even on the day at the turn – when they were in the final qualifying spot on the scoreboard – then made up ground with Hathorn birdies at 5 and 9.

On the final hole, Hathorn hit his second shot to the right of the green then chipped up to seven feet and sank the clutch putt. He said it was the best putt he hit all day.

“We were thinking 7 (under) was a sure thing, but 6 is going to be right at the cut,” Hathorn said. “After I made the putt we were coming in and talked to the pro and he said it looked like 6 would be the cut. We said we’re good. It turned out to be barely enough.”

They wound up tied with Vic Kyatt III and Andy McRae of Birmingham/Hoover and Stan Sherlin and Walker Grant of Montgomery. Swift and Guerin finished in a four-way tie for first at 11-under 133.

“I’ve got a good feeling about tomorrow,” Hathorn said. “We’re playing more golf. Playing two days in a row has helped my swing. We should be better tomorrow, but we’ll have to play good. There’s good competition here.”

Monday, at Anniston CC

(No. 1 tee)
8 a.m. — Rob Richards, Haleyville; Layton Bussey, White Plains; Rily McRoy, Westminster.
8:10 — Colton Russell, Haleyville; Nathan Griffin, White Plains; Jake Lackey, Westminster.
8:20 — Reid Haughton, Haleyville; Cameron McCareeth, White Plains; Teagan Miller, Westminster.
8:30 — J.B. Miller, Haleyville; Colman Hayes, White Plains; Brett Clark, Westminster.
8:40 — P.J. Sotelo, White Plains; Blaine Shoemaker, Westminster; Matt Johnson, North Jackson.
8:50 — Zade Wood, Brooks; Stewart Miller, Oneonta; Will Cabler, Rogers.
9:00 — Evan Hamner, Brooks; Will Patrick, Oneonta; Kyle Holden, Rogers.
9:10 — Johnathon Moody, Brooks; Colby Chaviers, Oneonta; Hunter Thomas, Rogers.
9:20 — Ree Rollison, Brooks; Ty Hayes, Oneonta; Chandler, Harper, Rogers.
9:30 — Justin Olive, Brooks; Joseph Hughes, Rogers; Andrew Archer, Central.
(No. 10 tee)
8 a.m. — Easton Jones, DAR; Cole Contris, Hokes Bluff; Kyle Haynes, Priceville.
8:10 — Riley Chandler, DAR; Josh Jones, Hokes Bluff; Zach Ashley, Brooks.
8:20 — Dawson Wright, DAR; Jeremy Black, Hokes Bluff; Jacob Johnson, Deshler.
8:30 — Tyler Troup, DAR; Matthew Jones, Hokes Bluff; Jacob Hyatt, J.B. Pennington.
8:40 — Alex Prickett, DAR; Tucker Marsh, Hokes Bluff; Hunter Sanford, Jacksonville; Andrew Miller, White Plains.

Tuesday, at Anniston CC

(No. 1 tee)
8 a.m. — Layne Dyar, White Plains; Taylor Snow, Alexandria; Ashton Moore, Russellville.
8:10 — Morgan Prickett, White Plains; Abbey Stevens, Alexandria; Morgan Moon, Russellville.
8:20 — Hanna Dyar, White Plains; Allison Arenth, Alexandria; Bailey Tubb, Russellville.
8:30 — Lexee Cunningham, White Plains; Josie Willis, Russellville; Lindsay Rogers, West Point.
8:40 — Dalys Mullican, Fairview; Erica Miller, St. John Paul; Kaylee Bryant, Deshler.
8:50 — Maci Yeager, Fairview; Alexa Weaver, St. John Paul; Kayley Donaldson, Deshler.
9:00 — Aladie Howse, Fairview; Hannah Enright, St. John Paul; Sjaan McCangar, Deshler.
9:10 — Ana Dahlke, Fairview; Madeleine Breithaupt, St. John Paul; Annie Ozment, Childersburg.
(No. 10 tee)
8 a.m. — Anna Fassacht, Brooks; Shelbi Tacon, Madison County; Robyn Blakey, Leeds.
8:10 — Benyapa Thamibal-udom, Boaz; Shelby Bevis, Wilson; McKayla Stover, Danville.
8:20 — Madison Ray, Boaz; Hannah Stuggs, Wilson; Haley Stephens, Crossville.
8:30 — Morgan Allen, Boaz; Kady Richardson, Wilson.
8:40 — Miranda Phillips, Wilson; Haley McElroy, West Blocton.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login